A Grain of Sand

Far above the ocean floor a wave has carried me

Tossing, churning, traveling, toward the place I long to be

 

Each wave carries me closer to the warm summer shore

Where adventure and dreams wait for me; in the water I will live no more

 

In a drop of salty spray I am tossed upon the sand,

Expectantly, anxiously, waiting for my new life to begin

 

Another wave rushes toward the shore, pushing me again

Thrown past rocks and pebbles, my aquatic adventure ends

 

Nestled on the beach, basking in the summer sun,

The water can no longer reach me here, lighter I become

 

I dream of adventure, of traveling across the sand

Perhaps in the shoe of a child or stuck to someone’s hand

Or maybe a young couple, strolling on the beach

Will lift me from the surface, letting me stick to their feet

 

Life out of the water, brings joy to a grain of sand

Washing up on a sunlit beach, my summer vacation at hand

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Everything Else, Poetry and Stories

Leave a Reply

